History

Murphy’s Bar is a family business run by the Murphy Family since 1955. In that year it was acquired by the present owner’s parents, John and Peggy Murphy. Peggy was legendary for the warmth and hospitality she showed to her customers.

Today’s host Seán Murphy continues that same tradition of welcome for which Peggy Murphy was famous. Seán is responsible for the extensive renovation of the bar in 1989 and the further expansion of the business in 2002, incorporating Squires next door and the highly acclaimed restaurant overhead known as Lord Kenmare’s.

Seán is a keen sportsman who has close links with the Killarney Legion GAA Club. He is also President of the Murphy’s Golf Society, which is one the most respected societies in Kerry. Each year Murphy’s organises an exciting Darts Tournament, the largest of its kind in Munster. The Killarney Races also features highly in the sports calendar of Murphy’s Bar.

The interior of Murphy’s is unique and very traditional. Pitch pine taken from an old church has been recrafted and used throughout the bar. This combined with stained cathedral glass exposed stone work and a collection of mementos and many fascinating photographs collected by Seán Murphy, add to the cosy ambiance of the interior.

Contact
18 College Street
Killarney
V93 EFP1
Ireland
Hours
Sun 17:00 - 22:00
Mon 17:00 - 22:00
Tue 17:00 - 22:00
Wed 17:00 - 22:00
Thu 17:00 - 22:00
Fri 17:00 - 22:00
Sat 17:00 - 22:00